The 24th International Congress on Glass took place from 7-11th April 2016 at the Shanghai International Convention Centre and was hosted by the Chinese Ceramic Society working with the International Commission on Glass (ICG).

The Congress Chairman was Prof Shou Peng of China Triumph International Engineering Co., the immediate past president of ICG, who called on the Glass Community to take this opportunity to join hands and make common efforts for the healthy and sustainable development of the glass industry and to realise ‘Glass Dreams' for the benefit of mankind.

Chair of the Scientific Committee was Prof Jianrong Qiu while Mr Zhanping Jin chaired the Organising Committee.

The opening ceremony began with welcomes from the ICG president, Dr Manoj Choudhary; president of the Chinese Ceramic Society, Dr Yongmo Xu; a representative of the Municipal Government and Prof Shou Peng. Next followed an Awards Ceremony. First were the prestigious President's Awards. These are presented only at Congresses and this year were given to: Dr N F Borrelli (USA), Prof A Makashima (JP), Prof J Parker (UK) and Prof Shou Peng (CN) for their lifetime's contribution to Glass and ICG.

Secondly the Turner Prize was announced, which is awarded annually for services to ICG's Technical Committees. Winners this year were Prof A Boccaccini (TC03) and Dr S Slade (TC13). The Gottardi prize was awarded to Prof R Martin (UK) who later gave a plenary presentation entitled ‘A structural insight into bioactive glass'. The Weyl award was presented to Dr Qiang Fu (USA) who subsequently spoke on ‘Glasses for healthcare: research, development and industrialisation'.

Altogether, 803 people registered for the Congress. 169 (20%) were students, 58 from outside of China. The 270 international participants represented 33 countries. The presentations and posters offered by delegates provided an exciting glimpse into the future of glass science and technology.

Some sessions were organised by individual technical committees of ICG, in particular, following a long tradition, TC17 on Archaeometry. During the conference copies of the latest book to be authored by Prof Fuxi Gan and Prof J Henderson was made available.

Author John Parker

Full report from