International Year of Glass chairperson, Alicia Durán, is to receive the 2022 Otto Schott Research Award.

Prof. Durán was nominated for the award by The Board of Trustees of the Ernst Abbe Fund.

The award will be presented at the 26th International Glass Congress (ICG) in Berlin from 3 to 8 July 2022.

The Otto Schott Research Award for outstanding scientific achievements was first presented in 1991.

Since then, this award has been presented every two years to recognise excellent researchers in the fields of glass, glass-ceramic and related advanced materials.

This award is presented on an international basis, which has seen winners from the USA, Russia, Japan, China, Germany and other European countries.

Prof. Durán is the first Spanish researcher to receive the award.

Prof. Durán is Research Professor at the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC), former President of the International Commission on Glass (ICG) and Chair of the United Nations International Year of Glass 2022.