The Sri Lanka Ceramics and Glass Council has elected Sanjay Tiwari, Managing Director and CEO of Piramal Glass Ceylon as its new President.

Mr Tiwari is the fourth President of the Council and took over from Mahendra Jayasekera, CEO of Lanka Walltiles.

Speaking at the council’s recent AGM in Cinnamon Grand Hotel, Colombo, the new president appreciated the efforts and the contribution of all the past Presidents, namely, Sunil Wijesinha, Dayasiri Warnakulasooriya and Mahendra Jayasekera.

He highlighted the contribution of the Ceramic and Glass Industry to the overall economy of the country and its efforts to build the brand image of Sri Lanka.

The Incoming President also emphasised the current challenges faced by the industry and the need for support from the Government of Sri Lanka.

The following were elected to the Board of Management of the Council; President, Sanjay Tiwari (Piramal Glass Ceylon PLC); Vice President, Dr. Jagath Pieris (Royal Fernwood Porcelain Ltd.); Secretary, Navindra Abeysekera (Lanka Ceramic PLC); Assistant Secretary, Wasaba Jayasekera (Dankotuwa Porcelain PLC); Treasurer, Yoshinarari Shimaya (Noritake Lanka Porcelain); Immediate Past President, Mahendra Jayasekera (Lanka Walltiles PLC); Committee Members, Anura Warnakulasooriya (Midaya Ceramic Co Ltd.) and Wipul Kularathna, Samson Rajarata Tiles. The Ceylon Chamber of Commerce functions as the Secretariat to the Council.