The 16th Otto Schott Research Award has been awarded to Professors Sabyasachi Sen and Josef Zwanziger for their achievements in fundamental and experimental glass research.

Professor Sen, of the University of California, Davis, is being recognized for his sustained contributions to fundamental and applied research on oxide and non-oxide glasses, including structural modeling and characterization measurements.

Professor Zwanziger, of Dalhousie University in Canada, was one of the first scientists to develop NMR (nuclear magnetic resonance) techniques to study the atomic structure of glass.

He has made significant contributions to the understanding of glasses containing boron, and more recently, to the development of lead-free compositions with zero stress-optic coefficient.